Facebook is great fun, a fantastic way to stay in touch with friends and family, and it can even be a powerful marketing tool. But sometimes, for whatever reason, there may be people on facebook whose attentions are unwanted. In cases such as these it’s likely that you’d prefer them not to be able to see your facebook pages. Blocking someone on facebook is a simple process.

Two Ways

Here are two easy ways to block someone on facebook.

Note: when you block someone they are not notified that you have done so.

The Block Lists Function

Firstly, you can use the “Block Lists” function.

  1. Log on to your facebook account
  2. Click the Account menu in the top right-hand corner of your home page.
  3. Select Privacy Settings.
  4. Towards the centre-bottom of the page that displays you’ll see a Block Lists heading and beneath this a blue “edit your lists” link.
  5. Click the “edit your lists” link.
  6. At the top of the page that displays you’ll see a Block Users section. Here there are two boxes; one to block a user by name and one to block a user by email address. You can use either one to block a particular person.
  7. Using the “name” box allows you to search for a particular person, just enter their name, or part of their name, and scroll through the list of people the system presents.
  8. When you’ve found the person you want to block, simply click the Block button next to their name.

Profile Page

Alternatively, you can block someone from their profile page.

  1. Open facebook and navigate your way to the profile page of the person you want to block.
  2. Scroll down the left-hand side of this page (beneath the profile picture etc.) until you find the blue “Report/Block this Person” link. Click this link.
  3. A panel opens that contains a “Block this person” checkbox. Click this box.
  4. Click Submit.

What Does Blocking Do?

Once you’ve blocked someone they won’t be able to search on facebook and find you. They won’t be able to see your pages (your Wall etc.) and they won’t be able to interact with you (send you messages, post on your Wall etc.). When you block someone, however, it may not affect any of the third-party applications you use, so you may still be open to communication or information sharing with the person through such applications.

Protect Your Privacy

By blocking someone on facebook you can control who sees you and interacts with you on this social networking site.

How to Block Someone on Facebook, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating

Tags:

Comments are closed.